An Anatomic Crown is the enamel-coated upper part of your teeth, including the gum-covered regions. The three layers of the anatomic crown are dentin, enamel, and pulp.

What Are the Three Layers of Anatomic Crown?

There are three layers of the anatomic crown, these are:

  • Enamel is the outer layer of the tooth. It is a thin, outer covering of the tooth.
  • Dentin is the part of the tooth underneath the enamel. It contains small hollow tubes or canals also known as microscopic tubules.
  • The pulp is the center layer of the tooth where the blood and nerve supply reside in the pulp chamber.

How is Anatomic Crown Different from Clinical Crown?

The anatomic crown differs from the clinical crown in that the anatomic crown is the top area of your teeth coated in enamel, while the clinical crown is the visible part of your teeth not covered by your gums, including your visible anatomic crowns and visible root.

Is the length of the anatomic crown different from a clinical crown?

The anatomic crown’s length may be greater or shorter than the clinical crown depending on the clinical state of the teeth.


Related Terms: